Postal Regulatory Commission Releases Fiscal Year 2021 Annual Report to the President and Congress

Washington, DC – Today the Postal Regulatory Commission submitted its FY 2021 Annual Report to the President and Congress. The Commission is required by statute to address information concerning the agency’s operations, including the extent to which regulations are achieving the objectives of the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act. The Commission’s report must also include an estimate of the costs incurred by the Postal Service to provide certain services that the Postal Service would not otherwise have provided except for the requirements of the law, and further presents an estimate for the value of the postal monopoly.

The Commission’s Annual Report also reflects the work it has done throughout the year as it continues to advance its mission to provide transparency and accountability of Postal Service operations. In addition to reviewing and approving planned rate changes for Market Dominant and Competitive products, new product proposals, and formal complaint adjudications, the Commission:

  • Issued final rules adopting changes to the regulations governing the system for regulating rates and classes for Market Dominant products
  • Adjudicated two central nature of service cases and issued advisory opinions on the Postal Service’s proposals to revise service standards for First-Class Mail and end-to-end Periodicals, as well as First-Class Package Service
  • Issued rulemakings related to: 1) performance incentive mechanisms that would help the Postal Service in the areas of efficiency, costs, service standards, and financial stability; 2) the Commission’s review of the institutional costs appropriate share requirement; and 3) the letter monopoly exemptions codified in 39 U.S.C. § 601

The Commission’s complete Annual Report is hyperlinked above and available on its website at

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission comprises five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Ann Fisher and Commissioners Mark Acton, Ashley Poling, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.