PRC Issues FY 2018 Annual Report to the President and Congress

Washington, DC – The Postal Regulatory Commission today released its Fiscal Year 2018 Annual Report to the President and Congress. The report provides a summary of the main activities undertaken by the Commission throughout the year. By law, the Commission is required to submit an annual report to the President and the Congress concerning the operations of the Commission, including the extent to which regulations are achieving the rate-setting objectives of the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act of 2006. The Commission must also include in the report an estimate of the costs incurred by the Postal Service to provide certain services.

The Commission had a number of significant accomplishments in Fiscal Year 2018. In addition to reviewing and approving planned rate changes for Market Dominant and Competitive products and new product proposals, and formal complaint adjudication, the Commission continued its work on the 10-year review of the system for regulating rates and classes for Market Dominant products. The Commission also completed its thorough analysis of the institutional cost requirement for Competitive products and ultimately issued final rules on January 3, 2019, adopting a formula-based approach to annually calculate Competitive products’ appropriate share of institutional costs. Moreover, the Commission further took an active role in certain international postal policy matters and provided its views to the State Department on Universal Postal Union proposals on rates and classifications for Market Dominant products.

The complete report of the Commission’s activities throughout Fiscal Year 2018 is available on the Commission’s website,


The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system.  The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Robert G. Taub, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Nanci E. Langley, and Commissioners Mark Acton and Tony Hammond. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator