PRC Announces Plan for 10-year Review of System of Regulating Rates and Classes for Market Dominant Products

Washington, DC – At today’s quarterly public meeting of the Postal Regulatory Commission (Commission), the Commission outlined its plans for the upcoming review of the existing ratemaking system. The Commission is notifying the public now so that all interested parties may prepare to fully participate in the review that will start after December 20, 2016. 

On December 20, 2006, the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act (PAEA) was signed into law and created a modern system of regulating rates and classes for Market Dominant products. The PAEA also mandated that the Commission review this system 10 years later to determine if it is achieving the objectives established by Congress. December 20, 2016 is the ten-year anniversary of the PAEA, and also will mark the beginning of the Commission’s required review of the system of regulation established by 39 U.S.C. § 3622. 

Although additional specific information will be provided by the Commission in its December Order, the Commission offers the following preliminary information:

December 20, 2016 – Commission issues Order beginning the review. The Order will describe the approximate structure and timeframe within which the Commission will complete its review, as well as define the opportunities for public comment within the review

Early Spring 2017 – Deadline for comments to be submitted

Early Autumn 2017 – Commission issues Order including its findings and, if necessary, preparatory rule-making information for any changes to the system

The Commission will provide updates to the public of the review process through its website, www.prc.gov.


The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system.  The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years.  The Chairman is designated by the President.  In addition to Acting Chairman Robert G. Taub, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Nanci Langley and Commissioners Mark Acton and Tony Hammond. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator