Postal Regulatory Commission Vice Chair Temporarily Assumes Administrative Responsibilities of the Agency

Washington, DC – The Postal Regulatory Commission today announced that effective immediately, Vice Chairwoman Ashley E. Poling will assume the administrative responsibilities of the agency under 39 CFR 3000.110(b) which states, “…In case of a vacancy in the Office of the Chairman of the Commission, or in the absence or inability of the Chairman to serve, the Vice Chairman, unless otherwise directed by the Chairman, shall have the administrative responsibilities and duties of the Chairman during the period of vacancy, absence, or inability.”

Michael M. Kubayanda’s term as Commissioner expired 1 year ago, on November 22, 2020. A Commissioner may continue to serve after the expiration of his or her term until a successor is confirmed, except that a Commissioner may not continue to serve for more than 1 year after the date of expiration, a period commonly known as the “holdover year.” President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. designated Commissioner Kubayanda Chairman of the Commission in January 2021, and he continued to serve in that position until his holdover year ended on November 22, 2021.  He is awaiting confirmation by the U.S. Senate after being re-nominated by President Biden.

“My goals during this temporary transition of administrative responsibilities will be to ensure the stability of the important oversight work conducted by the Postal Regulatory Commission and to continue following the initiatives and vision of Chairman Kubayanda as we eagerly anticipate his confirmation,” said Vice Chairwoman Poling.



The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to the Chairman, the other commissioners are Vice Chairwoman Ashley Poling and Commissioners Mark Acton, Ann Fisher, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.