Michael M. Kubayanda Resumes Role as PRC Chairman

Washington, DC - The Postal Regulatory Commission announced today that Michael M. Kubayanda has returned to the agency as chairman. After being re-nominated by President Joseph R. Biden and unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate, Chairman Kubayanda was sworn back into office today, December 9, 2021, to serve a term through November 22, 2026.

“I am humbled and honored to have the opportunity to continue to work alongside my fellow commissioners and the talented staff of the Commission.  The Commission’s work is fundamental at a time of great challenge and opportunity for the Nation’s mail system,” said Chairman Kubayanda. “I would especially like to thank Vice Chairwoman Poling for her exceptional leadership in handling the Commission’s administrative responsibilities during my temporary absence.”

Chairman Kubayanda was first nominated to the Commission in June 2018 by President Donald J. Trump. In August 2019, he was unanimously elected to serve as vice-chairman of the agency and served in that position through the end of 2020. In January 2021, President Biden designated him chairman of the Commission.

Prior to his appointment to the Commission, Chairman Kubayanda worked on privacy strategy and compliance issues with a technology startup. He understands a wide range of postal matters, given his work with the U.S. Postal Service Office of Inspector General (OIG) as Director, Government Relations, a role in which he worked with OIG officials to support the work of inspectors general in data analytics. In the OIG’s research group, he oversaw research on technical issues and wrote reports addressing postal economics and price regulation, intellectual property, and public-private partnerships, while serving as an advisor to colleagues on issues such as privacy, knowledge management, and innovation. Before his work with the OIG, he served on the staff of the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee.

Chairman Kubayanda holds degrees from Georgetown University, Northwestern University, and the Ohio State University. He also studied at the Graduate Institute in Geneva, Switzerland.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairwoman Ashley Poling and Commissioners Mark Acton, Ann Fisher, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.