Michael M. Kubayanda Designated Chairman of the Postal Regulatory Commission

Washington, DC – The Postal Regulatory Commission (Commission) is pleased to announce that President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. has designated Commissioner Michael M. Kubayanda chairman of the Commission, succeeding Robert G. Taub.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as chairman and look forward to serving all Americans, working with my colleagues in the Commission and throughout the Federal government, and connecting with a wide spectrum of stakeholders,” said Chairman Kubayanda. “I would especially like to thank Chairman Taub for his exceptional leadership of the Commission for more than six years. I plan to continue his approach of bipartisanship and collegiality.”

Regarding the appointment, former Chairman Taub said, “A hearty congratulations to Chairman Kubayanda upon his designation. Chairman Kubayanda brings a wealth of experience and an enormous skill set to the role of chair. I know he will lead this agency quite well, and he has a great team to support him. It has been a true honor and privilege to serve as the head of the Commission for more than six years. I am proud of the Commission’s accomplishments during this time, which could not have been achieved without our fantastic agency staff. I know the Commission will continue that excellent work under Chairman Kubayanda’s leadership.”

Chairman Kubayanda was first nominated to the Commission in June 2018 by President Donald J. Trump and is currently serving his first term as commissioner. In August 2019, he was unanimously elected to serve as vice-chairman of the agency and served in that position through the end of 2020.

Prior to joining the Commission, Chairman Kubayanda worked on privacy strategy and compliance issues with a technology startup. He has a unique understanding of a wide range of postal matters, given his work with the U.S. Postal Service Office of Inspector General (OIG) as Director, Government Relations, a role in which he worked with OIG officials to support the work of inspectors general in data analytics. In the OIG’s research group, he oversaw research on technical issues and wrote reports addressing postal economics and price regulation, intellectual property, and public-private partnerships, while serving as an advisor to colleagues on issues such as privacy, knowledge management, and innovation. Before his work with the OIG, he served on the staff of the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee.

Chairman Kubayanda holds degrees from Georgetown University, Northwestern University, and the Ohio State University. He also studied at the Graduate Institute in Geneva, Switzerland.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairwoman Ashley Poling and Commissioners Mark Acton, Ann Fisher, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.