Commissioner Mark Acton Elected PRC Vice Chairman

Washington, DC - The Postal Regulatory Commission voted unanimously to designate Commissioner Mark Acton as vice chairman of the Commission effective January 1, 2023, succeeding Commissioner Ann Fisher. Agency regulations provide that the commissioners elect a member to serve as vice chairman for a term of one year.

Commissioner Mark Acton was reappointed to the Commission by President Barack H. Obama on December 12, 2016, for a third term of continued public service extending until October 14, 2022, and was confirmed by the United States Senate on December 10, 2016. President George W. Bush first nominated Mr. Acton as a postal rate commissioner on November 7, 2005, and he was confirmed by the Senate on August 3, 2006. Prior to his appointments, Mr. Acton served as special assistant to the chairman of the Postal Rate Commission and assisted in managing all aspects of agency operations.

Commissioner Acton was the first member of PRC staff to join the panel of commissioners.  When concluding his present term, Commissioner Acton will have served at the PRC longer than any other commissioner. He is the sole sitting commissioner to have been appointed as a commissioner of both the former Postal Rate Commission and the Postal Regulatory Commission. Commissioner Acton has served previously as PRC vice chairman.  

A full biography of Vice Chairman Acton’s tenure in public service may be viewed here: Vice Chairman Mark Acton Bio.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Mark Acton and Commissioners Ann Fisher, Ashley Poling, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.