

Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Press Release

August 29, 2024

Postal Regulatory Commission Releases Fiscal Year 2025 Budget Justification Creates new Office of Budget and Finance

Washington, DC – Today the Postal Regulatory Commission submitted its Fiscal Year (FY) 2025 Budget Justification to the Postal Service Board of Governors. Members of the Commission unanimously approved the budget. This marks the third budget request for the Commission under the Postal Service Reform Act- Title 39, United States Code, Section 205.

The Commission's request of \$25,400,000 of annual funding for FY2025 supports a total Commission requirement of \$28,644,000 and is in line with its role as the primary regulator providing critical oversight, transparency, and expert reporting and analyses on the Postal Service. The remaining \$3.264 million would come from a Commission reserve fund and the Technology Modernization Fund.

The Commission recently added a new office of Budget and Finance that will serve as a strategic partner for the Commission to plan, execute, and manage fiscal resources necessary for the successful execution of its mission as well as compliance with applicable laws and regulations. The office is led by financial executive Kellie King, who brings to the Commission extensive expertise in strategic planning, budget development and management, business process re-engineering, enterprise risk management, performance management, and executive thought leadership in government, private, and nonprofit organizations.

Full documentation of the Commission's Budget Justification request may be found here: <u>FY</u> <u>2025 Budget Documents</u>.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five presidentially appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Tom Day and Commissioners Ann Fisher, Ashley Poling, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.