

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Media Advisory May 31, 2013

PRC Issues Proposed Rulemaking to Streamline Rules of Procedure for the Issuance of Advisory Opinions to the Postal Service

Washington, DC – Today the Postal Regulatory Commission issued a request for comments on proposed rules to streamline the procedures for considering Postal Service proposals to make nationwide, or substantially nationwide, changes in the nature of postal services (N-Cases), 39 U.S.C. § 3661. If adopted, the proposed rules would set a 90-day time limit for the Commission to issue an Advisory Opinion, while still providing participants the opportunity to develop an adequate record on relevant issues.

"The Commission is continuing to adjust its procedures to improve the efficiency of its regulatory framework," said Chairman Ruth Y. Goldway. "Due to changes in technology, the Postal Service must respond to rapid changes in mail patterns. These proposed procedural rules are intended to ensure that the Commission's analyses of the Postal Service's plans in Nature of Service changes are thoroughly reviewed and our recommendations are both helpful and timely."

The proposed rules are available on the Commission's website, Docket No. <u>RM2012-4</u> and will be published shortly in the *Federal Register*. Initial comments are due 45 days, and reply comments are due 75 days after publication of the notice in the *Federal Register*.

###

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Goldway, the other Commissioners are Vice Chairman Robert Taub, Mark Acton, Tony Hammond and Nanci Langley.