

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Media Advisory June 5, 2013

PRC Issues Proposed Procedural Regulations to Enhance Unfair Competition Complaints Process

Washington, DC – Today the Postal Regulatory Commission issued a request for comments on proposed rules to enhance the complaint process for parties alleging violations of 39 U.S.C. § 404a. Section 404a(a) prohibits the Postal Service from taking certain actions that might create unfair competitive advantages for itself.

Under the proposed rules, a person believing that the Postal Service is not complying with section 404a(a) could utilize an optional accelerated procedure designed to have the Commission adjudicate certain types of 404a complaints in 90 days.

Chairman Ruth Y. Goldway said, "This proposal represents another example of the Commission's efforts to improve upon our regulatory oversight processes while also making them more responsive to the concerns of postal stakeholders. I encourage all those concerned with the impact of competition by the Postal Service to review and comment on these proposed new rules."

The proposed rules are available for review on the Commission's website, Docket No. <u>RM2013-4</u>, and will be published shortly in the *Federal Register*. Initial comments are due 45 days, and reply comments are due 75 days after publication of the notice in the *Federal Register*.

###

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Goldway, the other Commissioners are Vice Chairman Robert Taub, Mark Acton, Tony Hammond and Nanci Langley.