

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Press Release

June 29, 2012

PRC Denies APWU Request for Emergency Relief

Washington, DC – The Postal Regulatory Commission (Commission) today denied a Motion from the American Postal Workers Union (APWU) requesting an Emergency Order preventing the Postal Service from implementing changes in service standards until after the Commission has issued a final ruling on an APWU Complaint filed on June 12, 2012.

The underlying APWU Complaint is still before the Commission, and the Postal Service response to the Complaint is due by July 2, 2012.

In its Motion, APWU asked that the Commission issue its ruling on or before June 30, 2012. The Commission weighed the merits of APWU's arguments and is issuing its decision on the Motion promptly, before that date.

The Commission Order states that "APWU has failed to demonstrate that it has a substantial likelihood of prevailing on the merits, that it will suffer irreparable harm, or that the balance of the equities in this matter weighs in its favor." The Commission Order concludes that "the potential harm to the Postal Service from a preliminary injunction outweighs the potential harm to mailers from not issuing a preliminary injunction."

A copy of today's decision (Order No. 1387), the request for emergency relief, and the Complaint can be found at <u>www.prc.gov</u> under Docket No. C2012-2.

###

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Goldway, the other Commissioners are Vice Chairman Nanci Langley, Mark Acton, Tony Hammond and Robert Taub.