## **Postal Regulatory**

## Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20001

www.prc.gov

Fax: 202-789-6886

Contact: Nanci Langley
Nanci.Langley@prc.gov

Phone: 202-789-6800

## **Press Release**

September 14, 2007 Washington, DC

Dawn A. Tisdale, vice chairman of the Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC), announced today that he will leave the Commission on November 22, 2007. He has advised President George W. Bush that he will not seek renomination.

"Three years ago, when I was sworn in as a Commissioner, I promised my family that I would return home to Texas when my term of office was over. I am following through on that commitment," said Commissioner Tisdale. "Although every day is special with your children, my daughters are 14 and 16 years old. I want to share in the excitement of their passage into young adulthood.

"I am proud of my contributions to the Commission during what has been a very active period. Over the past three years, we have decided two rate cases, including the first fully litigated case since 2001, R2006-1. I have been involved with the reorganization of the PRC resulting from the enactment of the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act, the PAEA, last December and the issuance of the proposed regulations for a new ratemaking process; participated in other rate and classification decisions; and presided over the Postal Service's *Evolutionary Network Development* plans, N2006-1, which brought needed transparency to the Service's network development plans.

"I wish my fellow Commissioners well as they continue the transformation of the Commission into the strengthened regulator envisioned by the PAEA. It has been my privilege to serve with Chairman Dan Blair, Commissioners Ruth Goldway, Tony Hammond, Mark Acton, and former Chairman George Omas," said Commissioner Tisdale.

Commissioner Tisdale was nominated by President Bush on February 11, 2004, to complete a term expiring on November 22, 2006. He was confirmed by the United States Senate on November 21, 2004, and is currently in his holdover year. Mr. Tisdale previously served in various positions within the U.S. Postal Service from 1966-2000, and served in the U.S. Navy from 1962 to 1966. He is a native and longtime resident of Austin, Texas.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Blair, the other four Commissioners are Ruth Goldway, Tony Hammond, Dawn Tisdale, and Mark Acton.