Postal Regulatory Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6800 Fax: 202-789-6886

Contact: Ann Fisher Ann.Fisher@prc.gov

Press Release

February 4, 2010

PRC to Convene Public Forum on Annual Compliance Determination Public Encouraged to Attend February 10 Meeting

Washington, DC – The Postal Regulatory Commission will convene a public forum at 10 a.m., Wednesday, February 10 at Commission Headquarters, as part of <u>Docket No. ACR2009</u>, to allow interested parties to comment on Postal Service plans for achieving financial stability to enable it to provide effective universal mail service to the Nation in 2010 and beyond.

The Commission is conducting the public forum as part of its legal responsibility to determine Postal Service compliance with the requirements of the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act during the past fiscal year. The Postal Service submitted its Annual Compliance Report to the Commission on December 29, 2009 and the Commission has 90 days from that date to solicit comments from the public, evaluate the data, and provide its written determination of Postal Service compliance with applicable statutory policies.

For those unable to attend in person, the public forum will be webcast live. Links to the webcast will be accessible on the Commission home web page under "Breaking News" shortly before 10 a.m. on February 10. A transcript of the proceeding also will be posted on the web under "What's New" and within the ACR2009 docket as soon as practicable after the public forum.

Opportunity will be provided during the forum for audience questions and comments following the presentations of registered attendees. The Commission has also designated a Public Representative, Kenneth E. Richardson, to represent the interests of the general public in the ACR2009 proceeding.

- 30 -

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Goldway, the other Commissioners are Vice Chairman Tony Hammond, Dan Blair, Nanci Langley, and Mark Acton.