

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov

Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Press Release

January 27, 2020

PRC Selects Erica A. Barker to Lead its Office of the Secretary and Administration

Washington, DC – Today, the Postal Regulatory Commission announced that Erica A. Barker, a senior attorney practicing administrative law in the agency's Office of the General Counsel, has been selected to lead its Office of the Secretary and Administration (OSA) effective today. In her new role as Chief Administrative Officer, Ms. Barker will oversee the day-to-day functions of budgeting and accounting, human resource management, records and data management, contracts and audits, facilities, and information technology.

Ms. Barker has practiced at the Commission for five years, providing legal and technical analysis and counsel relating to the Commission's mission, and managing projects involving compliance with Title 39. She brings substantial experience in employment law to OSA and regularly advises the Commission on the legality of various operations and procedures. Prior to her time at the Commission, Ms. Barker worked as a litigator in private practice focusing on employment law and complex litigation. She previously worked with the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. She earned her Juris Doctor degree from Seton Hall University School of Law and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Marist College.

OSA is the primary office providing management and staff support to the Commission's operational offices (including the Office of Inspector General).

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Robert G. Taub, the other commissioners are Mark Acton, Ann Fisher, Michael Kubayanda, and Ashley Poling. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator