

Postal Regulatory Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Press Release

January 12, 2017

PRC Issues Annual Report to the President and Congress

Washington, DC – Today the Postal Regulatory Commission (Commission) released its *Annual Report to the President and Congress* providing an account of the activities undertaken by the Commission during 2016. Under the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act of 2006 (PAEA), the Commission is required to address in its report information concerning the operations of the Commission, including the extent to which regulations are achieving the rate setting objectives of the PAEA. The law also requires the Commission to include an estimate of the costs incurred by the Postal Service to provide certain services that the Postal Service would not otherwise have provided except for the requirements of the law.

The report details the many accomplishments of the Commission of the past year. Chairman Robert Taub said, "We will build upon the agency's strong foundation of accomplishments for even further milestones in staff achievement, the timeliness and quality of work products, and the efficiency and effectiveness of agency operations." As this *Annual Report* is the first one issued to the new Congress and Administration, Chairman Taub also noted that "the Commission looks forward to a productive dialogue on how to ensure a vital and efficient universal mail system for years to come."

Download a complete copy of the Commission's 2016 Annual Report at www.prc.gov.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Robert G. Taub, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Mark Acton and Commissioners Tony Hammond and Nanci Langley. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator