

Postal Regulatory Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Press Release

July 2, 2024

Postal Regulator Releases Report Evaluating USPS FY 2023 Performance Report and FY 2024 Performance Plan

Washington, **DC** – Today, the Postal Regulatory Commission (Commission) issued its analysis of the United States Postal Service (Postal Service) Fiscal Year (FY) 2023 Annual Performance Report and FY 2024 Performance Plan.

The Commission's in-depth analysis reviewed the Postal Service's four performance goals: 1) High-Quality Service, 2) Excellent Customer Experience, 3) Safe Workplace and Engaged Workforce, and 4) Financial Health. Overall, in FY 2023, the Postal Service did not meet any of its performance goals.

Specifically,

- The Postal Service did not meet six of eight public performance indicators for the High-Quality Service performance goal, which measures on-time delivery of mail and packages.
- The Postal Service did not meet three of the eight performance indicators for the Excellent Customer Experience performance goal, which measures customer satisfaction.
- The Postal Service did not meet any of the performance indicators for the Safe Workplace and Engaged Workforce and Financial Health performance goals.

As required by law, every year the Commission reviews whether the Postal Service has met its goals and may provide recommendations related to protecting or promoting the public policy objectives established by Congress for the postal system. The full report, including an appendix containing the Commission's findings and recommendations for each goal, is available on the Commission's website at www.prc.gov.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission comprises five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Tom Day and Commissioners Ashley Poling, Ann Fisher, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on X: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.